게시판  검색  자료실  사이트맵  예수와나?


종교 탐방


뮌스터 시

Münster, city, North Rhine-Westphalia Land (state), western Germany, on the small Munster-Aa River and the Dortmund-Ems Canal. The community was first mentioned as Mimigernaford ("Ford over the Aa") when Liudger (Ludger), a missionary sent by Charlemagne, founded a bishopric there in 804. It was renamed Munster in 1068 and was chartered in 1137. Munster's favourable position at the intersection of long-distance trade routes and its wool trade with England gave it early economic importance and contributed to its influential position in the Hanseatic League in the 13th and 14th centuries. The Anabaptists, who constituted the radical wing of the Reformers, proclaimed their "kingdom of a thousand years" there in 1534. In 1535 Munster was captured, and in 1536 the Anabaptists' "king," John of Leiden (Jan Beuckelson), was executed with two of his accomplices; the iron cages in which their bodies were publicly exhibited still hang in the Gothic tower of St. Lambert's Church. A neutralized Munster was the scene of the peace congress (1645-48) that resulted in the Treaty of Westphalia. In 1815 Munster became the capital of Prussian Westphalia. 뮌스터시(----市, Münster City), 서독, 북부 라인의 웨스트팔렌 주의 도시로서, 조그만 뮌스터-아 강과 도르트문트-엠 운하에 위치하고 있다. 이 지역은 처음에 샤를마뉴가 루드거 사절을 보냈을 때 미미거나포드("아 위의 작은 여울")로 언급되었으며, 804년에 교구가 설립되었다. 1068년에 뮌스터로 개명되었으며 1137년 조차되었다. 뮌스터의 원거리 교역 요지로서의 이점 및 영국과의 양털 교역으로 이곳은 초기에 경제적 중요성을 띠었으며, 13세기와 14세기에 한자동맹에서 영향력있는 위치를 차지했다. 종교개혁자들 중에서 급진 좌경을 구성한, 재세례파는, 1534년 이곳에 그들의 천년 왕국을 선언하였다. 1535년에 뮌스터는 점령당하였으며, 1536년 재세례파의 왕인 존 레이덴(얀 뵈켈슨)이 그의 두명의 추종자들과 함께 처형되었다; 성 램버트 교회의 고딕 첨탑에는 아직도 그들의 시체를 대중에게 전시하였던 철장이 매달려 있다. 중립화된 뮌스터는 평화회의 장소(1645-48)였으며 웨스터팔렌 협정을 만들어 냈다. 1815년 뮌스터는 프러시아 웨스트팔렌의 수도가 되었다. 
The city suffered widespread destruction in World War II, but most of its historic buildings have been restored or rebuilt, including the gabled houses and arcades of the Prinzipalmarkt, the Gothic town hall (1335) with its Friedenssaal ("Peace Hall"), the cathedral (1225-65), and several churches--St. Ludger's, St. Lambert's, the Church of Our Lady, St. Martin's, and St. Maurice's (all 13th-15th century). The work of Johann Conrad Schlaun, a Westphalian architect of the Baroque period, is evident in the Westphalian Wilhelm University of Munster (founded 1780, a full university from 1902; in the 18th-century an episcopal palace), the bailiff's high court, and several churches. Notable modern structures include the state Chamber of Commerce building, municipal administrative offices, the theatre, the railway station (1956), and the Munsterland Hall.

The centre of Westphalian culture, Munster has several cultural and scientific museums, as well as technical institutes and schools for the arts. The city's industries include the manufacture of machinery and textiles. Munster is also the centre of the Westphalian cattle-breeding market. Pop. (1993 est.) 267,072.



 게시판  검색  자료실  사이트맵  예수와나? Homepage

This page was last modified 2001/09/21